Happy New Year!

No, I’m not crazy.  Well, not more than I’ve ever been.  But today is the first day of my new year, even if that year will have 14 months.  I don’t want to be totally out of touch with everyone, so I’ll catch up with you guys January, 2012.  Meanwhile…

I’m now officially part-time in nursing.  I’ll be working three 8 hours shifts, 3-11PM.  I still love nursing, but after 30 years, it’s getting harder to chase down hot three year olds and stuff Tylenol down them!  I consider myself semi-retired and with all this extra time on my hands, I’m also changing my writing life.

Before when I wrote,  I was productive in the summer and fall, but due to the hectic pace of my “other” job, I often didn’t get a lot done in the winter.  So, what am I doing now?  Am I working on my MIP?  Yes, I am, but most of focus this month will be on NaNoMo.

That stands for National Novel Month.  It’s an annual national challenge that writers put themselves through each November.  Each writer vows to write 50,000 words in 30 days.  By the end of it, you will have a novel.  Not necessarily a novel ready to pitch to an editor, but hopefully a complete story.

I figured with the way my schedule, personal and writing, has been so chaotic lately, I knew I needed something to help me get back into the writing every day.  I also need to teach myself to treat my writing as a job, so from now on, mornings are mine.  I won’t answer the phone.  I won’t make any appointments for the morning.  And I definitely WON’T read before I finish my writing…not the newspaper, not the book I’m into, not even my cereal box while I’m eating breakfast.

Another goal of this challenge is to avoid my inner editor.  In fact, at the NaNoMo kick-off, I locked the b*tch away!  And today was the first day.  I don’t have a synopsis yet.  Most of the time, a novel has to “cook” in my head for a couple of years before I start writing.  This time, I’ve had the idea for three weeks.  But I do have the first chapter and half the second blocked out.  Also,I’m writing in one file.  I’ll still have chapters, but I’m keeping the beast in one place.

And you, my faithful readers, will get to hear ALL about my journey.  Today, I got 1700 words done; I’m psyched!  But I’m realistic enough to realize that it may not go so well down the road, so any encouragement from you will be very welcomed!  And check back frequently.  I may not post daily, but part of my “New Year’s” resolutions is to be better with this blog.  Hope you won’t be bored.

More later.  Ta!

2 Responses to Happy New Year!

  1. Sandee says:

    How about now? How are you doing now? spw

  2. Sharon Ervin says:

    Kramer, good for you. I call the process before the writing begins “incubating,” a term familiar to a neo-natal-type. Your next career is finally going to get your full attention. Congratulations.

Leave a Reply

